30 November 2017

Play Video

This video 9 mins

  • 74

Video Information

This whiteboard video describes what the Braden Scale is and how it is calculated. It gives an overview of how the Braden scale can be used to as a patient assessment tool and how to assess a patient's risk of pressure ulcers, or pressure injuries, based upon six areas. Pressure injury prevention is a building block to patient care, the reduction of complications and supports cost reductions.

The video reviews the six assessment areas of the Braden Scale:

  1. Sensory Perception

  2. Moisture

  3. Activity

  4. Mobility

  5. Nutrition

  6. Friction and Shear